Interview | Photography by SMart

A little while ago I introduced you to a friend of mine who is a photographer. I showcased her website on Arhitektura+ and that proved to be a big hit. If you missed it – you may view it here. Seeing how much you liked Diandra’s Interview I thought I’d continue the trend showcase another very talented friend who also happens to be a photographer. Her name is Sandra Markovic and she is the owner of SMart.
Please see below just some of Sandra’s amazing work. SMart certainly knows how to capture a moment.

Here’s a 10@10 Q&A with SMart:

What inspired you to become a photographer?

I’ve always been a creative. It all began when I did a series of my phobias using photo manipulation. It frustrated me that I didn’t take the photos myself and it was a massive collaboration of images from stock sites. If I had taken the photos then I would’ve had control over the lighting and perspective, so I decided to buy my very first Canon 450D.

When did you become a photographer?

I’ve been taking photos since high school, but only starting taking it seriously while I was studying graphic design. We had a very small class and asked if we could integrate photography into our course, so we got to use the studio and do a lot of night photography. This is where I really started to understand aperture and shutter.

Where are you based and what areas of the Sydney do you cover?

I am based in South Sydney and I travel around to all my shoots. I shoot a lot of live stuff so I have to go to where ever the gig is, even if it’s international.

What are your favourite locations for shooting?

I don’t particularly have a favourite spot. If I have an idea in my head, I do a lot of brainstorming and then I look for a location that will go with the theme I have planned for. I’ve actually done a huge shoot in a friend’s backyard and you wouldn’t even know it.

How would you describe your style?

I am not really sure. I guess it depends on what I am shooting. Overall I’d have to say natural, imaginative and conceptual. I try to have my own distinctive and raw style when I shoot live bands so that my photos can be set apart from other live photographers.

Who are the photographers that influence and inspire you? What motivates you to keep going?

The photographer that inspired me from the beginning is Andreas Smetana. I actually used to do all his web design and his work always blew me away. Lara Jade is also another photographer that I’ve been following for years. I’ve watched her grow into this amazing photographer and she’s a huge inspiration. However, what keeps me going is after so much preparation and a long photo shoot, it’s all about THE one shot, if I’ve captured THAT moment than I’m satisfied and look forward to the next one.

What are you hoping to reveal through your pictures?

I definitely want to evoke an emotional reaction. I don’t know if that’s what people get, no one has ever said anything but I really hope it does that. When I shoot live stuff, I really try to capture the feeling of being at your favourite gig, and the emotion coming from each member of the band who love what they do. When I photograph people, I love to capture them in their natural state because it brings out the best in them and you can really see it and feel it in a photograph.

Are there any types of photography style you find more challenging and are perhaps looking to improve?

I think I will be forever improving on all styles and I seem to hop from one style to another. I started shooting landscape, then I found a love for shooting urban and abandoned buildings. Once I ran out of ‘safe’ buildings to visit, I got offered to shoot live shows so I gave that a shot and fell in love, that took a while to get the hang of but I’m still learning. I have only recently begun shooting natural portraits and I have to say that’s tricky, understanding lighting and capturing the emotions is probably the most challenging.

Tell us about your photographic equipment – what cameras do you use and how it helps you.

I use the Canon 5D Mark III and the lens I use is the EF 24-105mm f/4L . I wouldn’t say it helps me, because a great photographer isn’t about having the best gear, but it gives me the better quality photos I need to provide clients and magazines for print. Recently I went through old photos I took with my 450D and I was surprised at a few I took. Don’t take me the wrong way, I judge myself the hardest, there have been times I said I’d quit photography because I just didn’t think it was good enough.

And finally, show us one of your favourite shots and tell us a bit about how you got it.

I have a few favourites from different categories but since I shoot live stuff the most I have to say my favourite is the photo I took of Dave Grohl from the Foo Fighters. That day there were about 10-15 photographers, the stage was extremely high and the pressure was on. I love this photograph, it was captured at the right moment, you can still see his facial expression, it focused right and the lighting was perfect.

See more of Sandra’s beautiful work on her blog: http://sandramarkovic.wordpress.com

You can also like her Facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/SandraMarkovicPhotography

Would you like to get better use of your camera? We have a photography competition running now which closes this Friday click here for more details

4 thoughts on “Interview | Photography by SMart

  1. Pingback: Featured | Arhitektura « Adventure is Out There

Leave a Reply

