Interview | Italy in pictures with Diandra Dimic

I’d like to introduce you to my friend, Photographer Diandra Dimic. I have been following Diandra’s work for a while now and can say she manages to keep me surprised and delighted with every new photo. She has a keen eye for detail and color, a witty mind and a great talent for timing make up for a very fine body of work. Diandra always makes me want to be where she is through her photographs. I wanted to show you and share with you some of her work therefore I interviewed woman behind these wonderful images. Below are some of my favorite images from one of my favorite place Italy, hope you enjoy these.

Here’s a 10@10 Q&A with the very talented photographer:

What inspired you to become a photographer?

From a really young age, the idea of being able to capture something that appealed to me and be able to keep forever fascinated me.

When did you become a photographer?

Hmmm, I’ve been taking photographs for as long as I remember, towards the end of my high school years, I realised there was no other job I’d want more in the world, so I went on to complete my Diploma in Photography, worked in a studio for a few years and now here I am, I have my own business and do what I love.

Where are you based and what areas of the Sydney do you cover?

I don’t restrict myself to specific areas, I go wherever work takes me whether it be nationally or internationally.

What are your favourite locations for shooting?

I generally come across location ideas when I’m driving around or looking out of the train window. There’s a place I’ve been driving past almost every day for years that I’ve been fascinated by which I finally did a photo shoot at (photo’s of the shoot will be up in the next few weeks). Also Serbia and Italy have special places in my heart, there’s something magic about both countries.

How would you describe your style?

Difficult to say without sounding corny haha I’d have to say passionate and spontaneous, my style reflects my feelings at the time, the reality of things. If photographing people or events, capturing the finer details, there’s no greater feeling than to capture raw reality, intimacy, laughter and kinship.

Who are the photographers that influence and inspire you? What motivates you to keep going?

From well-known photographers, Bill Henson’s work inspires me, but I don’t necessarily believe it influences me. His montages are beautiful! Art in general inspires me, life, architecture, different cultures etc. I’ve met so many photographers from around the world that are so passionate about their work, Serbian photographer Aleksandra Radonic’s work takes my breath away, if you have some time please check it out, I’m also a fan of Italian photographer Federico Erra, his portraits are remarkable!  Everyday people who are doing what they love inspire me most. Seeing how people react to my work and hearing comments about what appeals to them in my images, being able to share the stories and emotions of my subjects with the world are all things that keep me motivated.

What are you hoping to reveal through your pictures?

They say art is a reflection of personal thoughts and emotions, I hope through my personal work I am able to reveal what inspired me at the time, where my thoughts were at that very second and what my heart wanted me to store in my memory forever.

Are there any types of photography style  you find more challenging and are perhaps looking to improve?

All types of photography styles are a challenge, you’re working to create something different, something that will be remembered, that will make an impact, not only to oneself, but to everyone that will view your work. There’s nothing in particular I wish to improve, I go with the flow and believe I improve with every photo I take. Like with anything in life, there is always room for improvement.

Tell us about your photographic equipment – what cameras do you use and how it helps you.

My first SLR was a Nikon F 80, I absolutely love it and will keep it forever. However as technology progresses, I have to stay up to date to be able to produce the highest quality images for clients. I’m currently using a Canon 5D mark 2, I’m really happy with it, it’s a beautiful camera.  I also like collecting vintage cameras, so hopefully one day soon I’ll dust them off and shoot some film before it is completely extinct!

 And finally, show us one of your favourite shots and tell us a bit about how you got it.

 I’d have to say my favourite image is one taken in Rome, Italy of Mother Mary, who to me, looks like is smiling, looking down on a pigeon taking off to embark on a new adventure. This image means a lot to me, and is a perfect reflection of my feelings at the time which is why it is so dear to me. I got lost in the magic of Italy, the poetic murmurs of the language, the amazing architecture, the rustic paint peeling off walls, waking up to pigeons humming, church bells ringing and wandering through narrow forgotten alleyways. So many emotions ran through me, being so far from home, trying to capture everything I saw so that I could relive those moments with family and friends when I got back. My boyfriend and I were lost in a maze of quiet alleys that I never wanted to end, looking up I saw an Alter of Mother Mary and a pigeon sitting under it, the warmth of the colours and textures drew me closer, and as I took the photo, the pigeon took off, thankfully at exactly the right second

See more of Diandra’s beautiful work on her website: http://diandradimic.carbonmade.com/,

her facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Diandra-Dimi%C4%87-Photography/114116305315507 or Flicker: http://www.flickr.com/photos/diandra_dimic/

4 thoughts on “Interview | Italy in pictures with Diandra Dimic

  1. Pingback: Interview | Photography by SMart « Arhitektura+

Leave a Reply

