DIY | Stencil Pillow

If you prefer to have a quote of your own on a pillow that that you will be seeing everyday then try this yourself.  I also think $100+ is a bit too much to give for a pillow? If you are like me you would change them all the time depending on your colour mood. If you are on the same boat as me then making your own was the perfect solution.

Supplies:
1. A blank pillow cover (You can get some nice linen covers from here.)
2. Some cardboard
3. A pencil
4. Letter stencil a fabric marker (Black Sharpie fabric marker works great!)

After choosing your quote, stuff your pillow cover with some cardboard to keep the marker from bleeding through and to keep the fabric stretched out smooth.

Use a pencil to stencil your quote onto the pillow cover. If you mess up the spacing you can erase the pencil lines and redo them. You can’t fix mistakes when you’re using the fabric marker, so don’t skip the pencil step. (At least I was able to erase on the linen, I don’t know if that would work on other fabrics.)

Once you’ve penciled everything in, go at it with your fabric marker! I found it easiest to use the stencil for the outline of each letter, and then remove the stencil to fill the letters in.

The Sharpie fabric marker packaging didn’t say anything about heat setting the ink, but I will probably press my pillow cover before I wash it, just to be safe.

Via | Wit & Whistle

3 thoughts on “DIY | Stencil Pillow

  1. IM OBSESSED WITH THIS! How did you make everything so straight? I’m the worse at making straight lines! You must have so much patience and a steady hand when you colored it in with the marker huh?

    I’m curious what your quote says.

    Thanks for sharing this, I love it!

    • Hey! This is what I have found I haven’t tried it myself yet soon I will and let you know. But if you do it on a flat surface put cupboard behind it will be flat 😀 Let me know if you do one, share it I would love to see it!

Leave a Reply

